just a minute in july.

So far, this has been the most bizarre year of my life; although so many wonderful things have happened (our engagement, lots of friends and family visits, stability) this year has had more than its fair share of downs. But despite all of that, I’m in a very good place. Rufus and I are so happy, I’ve found a study strategy that keeps me feeling in control and on top of everything, my workload is consistent but not crazy, Jango curled up and fell asleep on me last night; which was adorable, and I have some amazing, wonderful, fun friends and an endlessly supportive, endlessly hilarious family. 
Life feels like it’s in balance and I’m so stoked. I’m excited and grateful and just plain happy.
Eating: a lot cleaner. On a related note: I’ve started eating meat again (in small doses) to see if it alleviates any of my skin issues. I don’t like it, but the scientist in me needs to know if my skin issues are related to something I’m missing from my diet (I’m (nearly) a nutritionist, so my diet is usually always in balance, except for the lack of meat). And of course, I’m only eating ethically farmed, local, happy animals. It won’t last forever, so we’ll see how it goes.
Cooking: some recipes from the Lorna Jane website. I made a stuffed sweet potato on Sunday night which was a bit bland, but absolutely delicious when some hummus was added. I also have plans to make a pumpkin salad this evening. Last night we had a chicken and soba noodle stir fry (not from Lorna Jane) – with soy sauce, sriracha, honey and sesame seeds. I love our wok.
Drinking: my favourite green and peppermint tea combo, as well as Cleanse tea. And lots of water!
Learning: The dog I walk on Mondays and Wednesdays is incredibly anxious. Some days he will literally lay down in the middle of the road and refuse to walk with me, and it’s so easy to get frustrated. He’s slowly teaching me patience. I’m learning that sometimes, you just need to stop, sit down in the middle of the road, cuddle a dog, and enjoy the warmth of the sun on your face and the peace of your surroundings. You can always (literally) pick yourself back up and try again next week, and the week after that, and the week after that. And those little cuddle sessions in the middle of the road week after week are building up a bond between us, that perhaps won’t make next week’s walk so laborious. 
Reading: After finishing Bringing Up Bebe (which I highly recommend), I read Gone Girl – LOVED IT! – and have now started Jonathan Strange and Mr Norell. I watched the first episode of the TV show with the same name, and now I can’t help but picture the characters in the book as the actors. It’s interesting so far – a period book about magicians – and I like to start a book in a different genre to the one I’ve just finished. I’ve met my ’12 books in 12 months’ goal for this year already! 
Wanting: tattoos, nature, travel, and time with my family. Our families. Our family.
Looking: inward but shining outward.
Listening: to records on our new turntable!
Wasting: same as last month – compostable trash. I need to get my butt into gear and start composting again. Save a tree, man.
Wishing: my Nanna a very happy 80th birthday. What a strong (and stubborn), intelligent, hilarious woman she is.
Liking: my increase in exercise! I’ve kept up with yoga three times a week for a couple of months and am now feeling ready to do more. I’ve started doing at least another one strength workout each week – a Kayla Itsines circuit, which is brutal (also, I don’t believe in “bikini bodies”; in fact, the term offends me. I just have to put that out there) – as well as a cardio session. I used to be an absolutely gym bunny but lost the will during the last couple of crazy years – it’s really nice to be excited about moving my body again (could I have more energy due to my meat consumption? Time will tell). 
Feeling: excited to keep planning our wedding. I don’t think we’ll be getting married next year as anticipated, but that’s okay – I’m enjoying all the pinning and planning and daydreaming while it lasts!
Watching: in my alone time, I’m re-watching The O.C. Happiness! With Rufus, we’ve finished catching up on SHIELD and The Flash, and have moved on to iZombie- which is cute and fun – as well as King of the Nerds. And we’re still going through the Key and Peele backlogs. Perhaps we watch too much TV. (Also, I’ve been loving these videos on Youtube.)
Needing: again, same as last month – to see the sea. Some time in nature in general.
Smelling: of roses. Literally! My friend recently bought me some of this rose perfume from Lush, and I love it! I’m so grateful for thoughtful friends.
Wearing: many, many layers. We woke up at 7am this morning and the temperature was -1C. We don’t have heating. It wasn’t fun.
Noticing: how quickly time is passing. It scares me! I found this page very interesting. 
Grateful for: the sunshine. We’ve had a few weeks of cloudy, gray days, and it’s such a relief to finally see the sun again. My car was sitting in the sun after work last night and it was actually so warm that I had to open my window! To the outside world! For fresh air!
Loving: life. Every bit of it.

2 thoughts on “just a minute in july.

  1. This is such a good post! Interested to hear how introducing meat back into your diet goes.
    Liking your exercise routine, ditto on your feelings about the term “bikini body” (wholly unnecessary and ridiculous) but I feel that her circuits are great for a short, sharp workout. I've become a bit of a gym bunny myself, and am enjoying doing related activities like Base Camp and seeing myself get better and better each time I go.
    Glad that you are loving life. Can't wait to catch up with you in Aug! xx 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment